I Drive to Sober Up

Its these lessons I’ve been taught
over and over that make it so hard
In each desk and chair
I’ve found the same etched graffiti
talking about the end of days they’ve found
within their cars and pills

The friality of it all seems so
fake and breakable
I can’t remember your voice
the last time you hit the pedal
and found the concrete to fix your mind

The drinking will never end
with you here in me
I’ve thought about what you’d think
each time I laugh
but you left to never watch
I’m happy I’ll never see your face
To you its the unknown that will keep you high

Leave a Reply

