Confidence and Command

I’ve never lived ahead of anyone
I always stuck to the back to cover
Make sure the guards make it ahead
Let the pedestrians pass while I
guzzle the gas and have
smoke billow through my hair

Each bang reminds me of who I am
One who will take a bullet
to leave another white cross
among many of the same shape
and colour To be mourned over
I will not be remembered but
my ideal will be

I can’t see through the leaders ahead
of me They are solid while I
am translucent I’ve changed
my shape and face before
to follow whoever seemed the strongest
They look through me to see who
is safe and I’m left curious
as to why they continue forward
as I fall far behind

Leave a Reply

