24.2.14 Strike Four

This one step the wrong way
Bumping into someone I thought I’d lean on
Only to fall on my ass
When they were gone
Sitting and telling myself
I’d be okay

I see all these legs sweep by
Paying no attention
I sit and say I’ll be okay

It’s been years and my legs
have fallen asleep
Stand for years
My legs are getting tired
There’s no way they hold me up anymore
Skinny and frail
This fragile box has been dropped
I’ll stay here and see what picks me up

I won’t try any longer

Leave a Reply

