16.2.14 Depths of Ooze

I’m doing my best to try to pull you out of the depths
I’ve just dragged myself out of.
I dived back in because it wasn’t time to leave.
I saw your face terrified
being swallowed alive and I knew
with my experience and your caring it’d be simple
to save you.

Maybe I need to lurk and fester
Among the kind like us.
I can push them away so they leave.
Show them what the depths will do to you
If you give your life to it.
Push them so they leave me to fester
while they live and thrive.
My sacrifice can be here.
The lifeguard of the depressed
Teaching them how to swim out of the ooze.

Leave a Reply

