19/12/13 Heartbeat

Something about a heart beat scares me
Someone who knows me might think it’s the fact
That it’s a constant reminder that I’m alive
and that tomorrow I’ll have to face
Everything that scares me on a day to day basis

That isn’t it
It has to do with the constant thumping, droning
The feeling of never being alone
Of having something that I feel like I’ve lost

The idea of not having to think to make it work
A mystery, or even miracle, of the human body
Why don’t I have the option to think
and make it stop

The human body does so many things we don’t understand
That we don’t control
To keep us alive
Make us breathe
Move thousands of muscles
Express
Create waste
Keep our heart beating
Make us depressed
Why can’t we just think to make it stop?

Leave a Reply

