7/12/13 Liquid Confidence

I can’t say I’ve ever met someone
Where I can distinctly remember
The first time we
hung out sober
But with you that’s different

Now I see it in others
As we go around
The liquid confidence
seems to be the start for many people
I can remember nights like that too
When all I could manage was a quick joke
No conversation would come
without some lubrication

I hope they’re behind me
behind us
because when we hung out sober
It all went smoothly
Sometimes I think i’m not myself anymore
Too uncomfortable to be in normal skin
But when I doubt myself
I can always sneak another drink

Leave a Reply

