5/11/13 GoodBye Grandpa

I don’t think I ever came to terms with your death.
I never had an emotional response to it.
I just stopped and pondered for a few moments
Then continued on as the world kept spinning.
Thats because I never really got to know you.
It’s strange to see that I’ve missed a whole life I could’ve known
all the knowledge just gone instead.
A whole person with the same blood as me
who raised my father
Made me possible.
Yet I couldn’t even remember your middle name.
I had to learn it written on the side of your death bed.
I’m sorry I never tried. I can’t honestly say I ever cared for you.

The moments I now remember of you
are your sickness. Your sadness.
I wish I had something happier
A joke, a hint of personality.
Even my friends seemed more upset than me.
But to this day I do still have your stone
I just wish I had more to remember you by.

Leave a Reply

