10/10/13 The Reconstruction

There came a time
When I had to get dorky glasses
And the golden age came to an end.
It wasn’t cool to have a whole world inside your head
To be yourself
To imagine and wonder of galaxies far far away
The bullies got to me and I changed who I was
I pretended not to care what anyone had to say
I was ‘strong and confident’
People liked the new me
People aspired to be like me
The guy who could take a verbal punch
The one who could throw one too
But soon the consequences could dawn
and I would have to learn
How to take a new beating

Leave a Reply

